Welcome To CandyLand...
Mother Mary!
2004-02-06 | 7:35 p.m.
I feel tingly and funny...but in a good way. Lemme explain...

I was informed awhile back about billycorgan.com but never checked it out because I am lame and absent-minded at times. Actually, I thought Billy was just making posts on billy-corgan.com. See...all this info was spoken to me, so I was unaware of the world of difference the hyphen makes.

So last night I was finally told the real deal and how billycorgan.com was Billy's personal site that he created and maintains himself. Hot damn! So this evening I sat my ass down and read every single delicious morsel of the site. The most intriguing post was the one about his love for death metal (yay Billy!)...and the whole blurb from 1.30.04 which talked about how the Virgin Mary saved his life a few years ago.

Ok...let's stop for a second.

Who are my two heroes? When you ask me if I could meet only one male and one female in the entire world, who would they be?

Beverly Donofrio and Billy Corgan

And what do they both have in common? Well, first of all...I can relate to them both on different levels...Bev was a young single mom who worked her ass off to be a journalist and Billy Corgan is a deep and sensitive musician and writer (combine them both and that makes the basic foundations of my life!!)

But now...they both have Mother Mary in common!!! My two heroes...seeing spirituality in many senses the same way I do. What a coincidence!! It makes me warm and fuzzy.

I saw it coming, though. The ZWAN album Mary, Star of the Sea is named after the church he went to in Key West where he found Mary (I just found that out). I have always felt the record has a definite religious undertone to it...but I figured it was just me who interpereted it that way, because I do that with a lot of songs...even with some bands that you would think you couldn't. Anyway...to get back on my train of thought...Many-a-Sunday I would pop in Mary, Star of the Sea and belt out the words at the top of my lungs and get that crazy warm blessed feeling from my head to my toes.

I'm not here to rant and rave and open up the Pandora's Box of religion...because I don't believe in organized religion and I believe a lot of things most "religious" people would disagree with and say I wasn't really this or that or the the other thing. But God is definitley my gut...and definitley a relationship in my life.

I'll stop there.

At any rate...I've got a date with Katy, Meredith and that whole wonderful posse....so I'm off.




0 comments so far