Welcome To CandyLand...
Candy and Me
2003-12-17 | 6:32 a.m.
A HOLIDAY GRIPE

Ok, I have a new pet peeve! It is that new-fangled craze of those gigantic blow up holiday yard decorations!! They are so fucking tacky-bad (NOT to be confused with the lovely tacky-good). What gets me is that everyone seems to have latched on to this horrible holiday guffaw. As I'm driving down 39th last night on my way to band biznasty, I saw all of these elegant vintage houses between Glisan and Burnside with these horrid things in their lawns (we're talking snowmen, Santas, even Scooby Doo!! So help me God...Scooby Mother Fuckin' Doo!) I was like, "People...I thought you all were classy living in your expensive vintage homes in the coolest part of Portland!! This is not right!!" It makes me sick.

MY FIRST CHRISTMAS PRESENT OF THE SEASON

So I walk in this morning to find a book tucked away in my cubby hole at work. I spot it and smile and instantly say, "You've got to be shitting me!" It was that book I had talked about a few months ago called Candy and Me (A Love Story) which is a collection of funny memiors having to do with all different kinds of candy. Inside was a 3X5 notecard with this sentiment (in all caps): SLEDGE: Picked this up last night and doubt that I could hang on to it for a full week without losing or destroying it. So it's early. So sue me. Yrs, Ryan Xmas 2003...It pays to have fans. I thought only Xtina got cool shit from her fans like mountains of CDs and fancy food from Trader Joes. Nope...I finally got a cool gift from a fan...A book that I actually wanted to read...go figure!

THE STORY BEHIND SLEDGE

You are probably wondering why Ryan calls me Sledge. Well, I think it was during one of our e-mail conversations that he said, "Geez! I'm going to start calling you Sledge because you've broken so many hearts!" I can't even remember why he said that. Sometimes he says random shit like that. Or, maybe it was the time I was telling him that when my ex-boyfriend Steve said he loved me for the first time, I felt like punching him. I can't remember. But that is what Sledge is in reference to...a sledge hammer to break hearts.

OTHER

I plan on finishing my Christmas shopping today while Nattie is with Mark for her Wednesday evening visit. I have to get something for my brother and his fam and a toaster oven for my parents. My mom said they wanted one. Rather, she wants one, but knows I can't afford it unless it's a "together" gift. And since I don't know what else to get, that's a win.

Just....two....days. Must make it. Am...going...crazy.

For now this is Candy saying check out the Willamette Week everyone! Pages 36, 41 & 45!

Current Mood: Anxious. Yes, still.

Current Soundtrack: -- (nothing yet)

Current Skirt: Black pinstripe




0 comments so far