Welcome To CandyLand...
Malloween!
2003-10-27 | 7:29 a.m.
Change...inevitable. perplexing. constant. We know all this. And yet, we are always surprised when it comes.

I have been in a bizarre place lately. Another round of change has come...

First of all, it's autunm and the winter instincts are starting to fill me. I'm becoming more reclusive, more sentimental, and my creative productivity is on the rise (this is a result of the first two).

Secondly, the flowing peaceful events of the past six months have suddenly come to a halt and have been flipped over the past month. Strain. Stress. And all suddenly. And out of nowhere. Like a fucknig baseball bat to the back...I didn't even see it coming. I have come to the conclusion that no permanent resolution will come for a few months...but in the meantime I will hang in there and just be reclusive to cope. It's the only way. And when resolution finally does come...I will enjoy the solitude and quiet and unscented aura of it all. But I'm glad for this experience...it will make me appreiciate all of the above so much more than I would have without it.

JOLENES HIGHLIGHTS OF THE WEEKEND

The show on Friday night ruled ass!! The zombie make-up combined with the fake blood was damn goth-a-liscious! We put on a damn good show, too. It had been too long since we'd played live. I had missed it so much.

Playing the haunted house thingy on Saturday was interesting. It was more of a casual practice-environment than a show. However, growing up with a drumset in the garage and four younger nieces and nephews around alot...the first thing I did when we were done was put my sticks back in my coffin case and tell all the little kids, "I don't know where my sticks went!" when they all asked to play my kit. I was a vampire cheerleader that night instead of a zombie cheerleader. I used white foundation on my face and neck and made dark circles around my eyes, had on black lipstick, and of course, my newly purchased fangs.

All the children thought my tattoo was fake. They seemed confused and shocked when they found out it was real. One little girl said, "What about on Easter? You'll still have a witch on your arm!"

The haunted house was scary!!! I held onto my boyfriend and screamed into his ear a lot. How could I not when scary ass witches, zombies, and random hands are constantly jumping out at you and actually grabbing at you?? At one point, I was holding onto his hand and someone else's hand. I'm not sure if it was Xtina's or Simon's...but we were all scared shitless and all hanging onto each other.

Good times, great friends, The Jolenes!

After that, I took boyfriend home and we carved pumpkins while listening to REM and then watched this genius and hilariously demented cartoon on homestarrunner.com about a billion times which gave us a wicked case of the giggles before falling asleep in each others arms.

I also got a taste of winter yesterday. Nattie was watching "A Charlie Brown Christmas" while we were eating dinner and I got really excited for Christmas. I was just imagining the coziness of a warming fireplace, the gentle glow of a Christmas tree, and quiet evenings at home.

For now this is Candy saying 16 days 'til tour...I can't wait!

Current Mood: Sentimental

Current Soundtrack: SP - Pisces Iscariot

Current Skirt: Black and long Emily Strange spiderweb skirt. Halloween is Friday...I'm going to be extra goth despite the dress code at work this week.


0 comments so far